Is this Marriage wrong?

There are few things in this world that truly shocks me. Last week it was reported that 51 year old actor Doug Hutchinson wed 16 year old Courtney Alexis Stodden in Las Vegas, Nevada. Hutchinson is best known for playing the characters Percy Wetmore in the “Green Mile” and Horace Godspeed in “Lost”.  Courtney Alexis Stodden is an aspiring country singer and model, some of her work can be seen on youtube.

It’s really easy for me to comment on the age difference of this relationship and bash the legitimacy of the marriage. It’s even easier for me to question Courtney’s parent’s decision in giving their 16 year old consent to marry. However, as a loyal fan of Lost, I’m not going to do any of that. If this couple is truly in love than we as a society shouldn’t be cynical and wish them happiness going forward.

My only question regarding this topic is when did they start dating? I haven’t found an answer yet, and if anyone knows please share. Because the traditional view is that marriage happens after a long courtship. This means, if they have been dating for 2 years, the relationship began when Courtney was 14 and Doug was 49. I’m hoping the couple did not date for more than 2 years otherwise it’s going to be very hard to support this marriage going forward. Than again, Hugh Hefner almost married Crystal Harris. He is 85 and she is 25, there’s a 60 years difference in age! Right now there’s sympathy for Hef being dumped, but where’s the outrage from the general public about him wanting to marry someone so young?

What are your thoughts on this subject?

6 Responses to “Is this Marriage wrong?”


  1. 1 Sarah June 28, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    Not really wrong because she clearly looks 40 and he looks like he’s 26.

    In all seriousness though, there is something quite confusing to me about this entire thing and makes me think that both of them are just trying to get the publicity that they are getting off this marriage. I did watch all seasons of Lost and yet, until this marriage, I could not have remembered Hutchinson’s name for the life of me until he married teenage barbie bimbo.

    I might not have even thought this as much if not for her trying to jump start that singing career (a “talent” at which she is so woefully inept).

    The truth of the matter is that when a girl as vacuous and dumb as she represents herself marries someone that much older can get them a spotlight or who has money, those are the reasons for those unholy unions. This all just seems so much like a publicity stunt that I can’t stop thinking that.

    I know, this is the easy way out, to bash this, but logically I can’t think of a single positive thing to say about these two. I can’t even think good for Doug for landing the younger girl because: one, she looks easily twice her age; two, she resembles a coked out Julianne Hough; and three, she’s sixteen. If she was 21 and he was 55, I wouldn’t have minded and it’s the same difference, she is a child now though! A middle-aged man is screwing a girl who possibly hasn’t even taken her SATs yet and might not have been able to drive to her own wedding. (I’m not sure about laws in that state, but if I have to look it up, it’s wrong.)

    There is a reason why Hugh’s ex-fiancee was angling for that marriage, she already has specials and interviews and possibly book and recording deals coming afterwards, some of which were planned before she broke off the engagement. People feel sympathy for Hugh in that he was duped and he had staunchly refused to marry again for a very long time. An old guy got taken in by a girl who just wanted to make some money and fame off him. Also, that girl was 25, she was an adult, she knew what she was doing.

    While on this subject though, and I know this is off-topic, this is why Twilight terrifies me. There is a sixteen-year-old girl without a personality or the ability to think or do for herself as far as I can see being wooed by a guy who is centuries old (and also technically dead, adding a little necrophilia to the mix). Then all the little 10-17 year olds line up and talk about how they want someone who could be their grandfather’s grandfather. Talk about messed up age differences.

  2. 2 Mao's Army June 29, 2011 at 9:54 pm

    What an excellent and insightful comment Sarah. It seems you have a better understanding of this situation than myself. I would agree with most of your comments, and you bring up an excellent point in regards to Hugh Hefner being duped. Truthfully speaking, I feel no sympathy for him. Mainly because he’s got money, fame, and many female companions. It’s difficult to feel sorry for a guy that has so much while normal guys like myself don’t have as much.

  3. 3 lcooksmarketer1 June 30, 2011 at 1:11 am

    I don’t think there’s any wrong with it. Sharing the same age is not a prerequisite for a successful marriage. Perhaps the differences in age will keep the marriage interesting.

  4. 5 A July 5, 2011 at 3:15 pm

    I don’t believe the age difference is a huge factor, however the fact how old she is right now is a major point. If she was at least 18, old enough to legally marry without the consent of her parents, perhaps it wouldn’t matter as much. However, seeing how she’s 16 and he’s 49 and getting married now. I would frown upon that. But then again maybe love conquers all, however, I don’t really see these marriages lasting long, espeically if she’s an aspiring singer and model. When she gets older (maybe 2 years later), she may realize what she did was not the best choice for her career. This is my opinion on this matter.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. You will only get notifications of new posts, nothing else, and your support by subscribing would be greatly appreciated!

Join 6 other followers


