I Love Yu-Gi-Oh and Awesomely Bad Pop Songs!

It’s been over a week since I last blogged, and to those of you that read my posts regularly, I sincerely apologize for not writing. I wish I can say I’m having some problems writing new materials or that I’m having writers block, but the truth is I been extremely lazy. I haven’t even been doing things that I normally love either such as working out or playing pickup basketball. This is kind of weird because normally I have the energy and am excited about doing those things. Lately, I just want to sit on my couch and hang out. What I have been doing recently is kind of nerdy and embarrassing. I can’t believe I’m sharing this on my blog, so don’t judge, I’m sure everyone has a guilty pleasure that they want to keep secert.

Anyways, I found out that www.hulu.com has every episode of Yu-Gi-Oh and I been staying up late every night to watch as many episodes as possible. I can’t help it, I’m a sucker for a good story and in some ways I feel like I’m reliving my younger years by watching a show I use to obsess about. It’s pretty embarrassing to show up for work sleep deprived because of Yu-Gi-Oh and not some respectable reason such as getting drunk or partying. Since I finished watching every episode of Yu-Gi-Oh, I been kind of bummed and trying to get over the fact that the show is over. I believe the same feelings will resurrect when I watch the last Harry Potter movie. Although it wouldn’t be as bad as when I finished the last book, I think I was depressed for a month.

What I been also doing besides watching Yu-Gi-Oh is surfing the internet and listening to awesomely bad pop songs. I don’t know why all of a sudden I developed such an interest, those songs use to annoy the hell out of me, and now I love them? I don’t get it, but check out some of the songs I been jamming to and let me know what you think. Also, share your thoughts on your guilty pleasures as well!

Rednex-Cotton Eye Joe

Bobby Brown-Every Little Step

TLC-No Scrubs

Soul Decision-Faded (I don’t know why I can’t stop listening to this song)

Shaggy-It wasn’t me

NSYNC-Bye Bye Bye

4 Responses to “I Love Yu-Gi-Oh and Awesomely Bad Pop Songs!”


  1. 1 Jess Bulu July 27, 2011 at 7:00 pm

    Hey,
    I really like this sentence: “It’s pretty embarrassing to show up for work sleep deprived because of Yu-Gi-Oh and not some respectable reason such as getting drunk or partying.”
    Oh man, Cotton Eye Joe… Did you learn the dance moves yet? From what I could tell at all 2 of the parties I ever went to, if you were a white female between the ages of 15 and 25, you automatically loved this song and knew how to do the dance perfectly. It was amazing.
    As for guilty pleasures- Yesterday I ate a TUB of cotton candy, and I did not share.
    That is all.

  2. 2 Mao's Army July 28, 2011 at 12:40 am

    Thank you for your comment Jess, and I’m glad you liked this post. I don’t know the dance moves but I’m going to check it out now. Good observation about the white females haha, I totally agree, I have a feeling it’s in their genetics. Did you enjoy those parties? Also, respect on the tub of cotton candy. No way I’d be able to do it haha

  3. 3 lcooksmarketer1 July 28, 2011 at 8:51 pm

    Ha. Is it bad that I love most of these songs? Lol. Guilty pleasure? Court TV. This stuff is so addicting. On days that I’m not out on assignment, I work from home and sometimes I watch court shows just to see how messed up other people’s lives are. It’s my guilty pick-me-upper.

  4. 4 Mao's Army July 29, 2011 at 10:06 pm

    I gotta check out court tv too, sounds interesting. I’m always eager to see how messed up people’s lives are too, lol. Anyways, checkout http://www.failblog.org, that’s another guilty pleasure of mine. Its pictures and videos of people doing failing at easy things, I always feel better about myself after going to that site 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email. You will only get notifications of new posts, nothing else, and your support by subscribing would be greatly appreciated!

Join 6 other followers


